Part 1: MN Quilt Show – Paper Piecing Class

Last week, I had the opportunity to go to the 2014 MN Quilt Show in St. Cloud, MN.   Julie from Wanna-be-Quilter was able to join in on the fun.  We always have a good time!

Our first class was an Introduction to Paper Piecing with Elizabeth Dackson of Don’t Call Me Betsy.  I learned so much!  I really like paper piecing.  Elizabeth was a great teacher.  She was easy to understand, patient, and answered my many questions.  It was so nice to have the chance to sew blocks because of having everything pre-cut.  We spent the time learning how to sew the blocks together versus cutting.  Elizabeth walked around the class and talked to each of us and answered our questions.  I would definitely take a class from Elizabeth again.

All set up for class to begin!

image

My precut fabric all organized in ziploc bags.

image

My first paper pieced triangle!

image

image

I almost finished this block before I left class.  I had all 8 triangles done and only needed to sew them together to create the block.

image


 This might be my favorite block.  I was able to complete half of this block during class time.

image

image

The Chaos block was another stunning block.

image

A day long class definitely provides the time needed to actually learn a new skill and get to the point of feeling comfortable enough to complete the rest of the blocks.  I was so confident that I purchased Elizabeth’s book, The Confident Quilter, and another paper piecing pattern, Ferris Wheel Quilt.

Since the class, I have finished up the blocks!  I really enjoy paper piecing, just not the taking paper off the back part.

Lucky Stars Red Hot Star

image Lucky Stars Pinball Swirl Block

image

Lucky Stars Chaos Star

image

Lucky Stars Twirl City

image

I also purchased Elizabeth’s 2013 & 2014 Lucky Stars Block of the Month patterns.  My latest plan is to make a few more blocks to make this into a quilt or larger table runner.  Ripping off all of the paper from the back may change me mind!

Linking up to Finish It Up Friday with Crazy Mom Quilts!

About My Pieced Life

I am in love with all things quilting. My sewing room has many works-in-progress and a large stash of fabric. I have big plans and lots of ideas of creations I would like to make. My wonderful husband supports my obsession and Carson, my Australian terrier, keeps me company while I sew.
This entry was posted in Paper Piecing, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Part 1: MN Quilt Show – Paper Piecing Class

  1. Those blocks look really amazing. I still haven’t ever done paper piecing, though I keep saying that I need to try it (why am I afraid? lol)

    Thank you so much for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  2. Pingback: The wheels on my wagon go round and round… | My Pieced Life: Like a quilt, life is a pieced work of art.

Leave a comment